Letter to my Aetna Patients- Enabling is Easy; Taking a Stand is Hard

May 12, 2014

 

Dear Cherished Patient,

I regret to inform you that I am no longer ethically able to continue my agreement with Aetna to serve as an in network provider.

However, I am pleased to inform you that I am committed to our mutual patient-physician relationship, which, in medical reality, supersedes any impersonal, one-sided relationship between you and an insurance company.

I hope and pray you will continue to seek your care from me. My pledge is to provide state-of-the-art, personalized medical and surgical care to you with privacy, dignity, and compassion. I honor the Hippocratic Oath. My fees are reasonable and transparent.

I will provide you with billing codes for my services should you choose to file with Aetna as you would for any out of network provider.

I have attached my letters to Aetna should you be interested in why I have terminated my agreement with them. Perhaps, you will reflect upon your relationship with Aetna as well.

Make no mistake; this is a direct result of Obamacare. Aetna could have honored their mission statement and chosen to stand for the best interest of the patient, but instead Aetna colluded with the federal government and its lawless, discriminatory “Affordable Care Act”, selling the false promise of my services on the federal Obamacare exchange without discussion, permission, or notification. I will not enable or facilitate such deceptive, manipulative, and discriminatory behavior. America’s patients and physicians deserve better. Without us, what do they sell?

Please, address your concerns with Aetna.

Respectfully,

Kristin S. Held, MD

3 thoughts on “Letter to my Aetna Patients- Enabling is Easy; Taking a Stand is Hard

  1. Dr. Held,

    I have no other words that will suffice, other than thank you and may your integrity, honesty and compassion be rewarded in ways you did not imagine. Two of our children are doctors and share your concerns. One is a radiation oncologist, the other a pediatrician. I pray for them and you as the forces allayed against the medical profession and the Hippocratic Oath hold sway. Please never quit or stop doing what is right.

    • Thank you so much, Steve,

      America desperately needs good doctors like your 2 children. It takes such hard work and sacrifice.Thank you so much for your prayers and encouragement. Those of us who uphold the Hippocratic Oath will stand and get back up and stand again hopefully one more time than they knock us down. They can’t do this without us.

Leave a Reply

