Letter to my patients regarding United Healthcare provider status

February 2, 2015

Dear Cherished Patient,

Whether I have seen you for the last 25 years or only once, I regard our patient-doctor relationship as private, personalized, inviolable, and not subject to outside interference from overreaching government agencies and insurance corporations.

Taking care of you is a privilege and a blessing.

The preeminent relationship must remain between the patient and doctor, not the patient and the insurance corporation or the patient and the government bureaucrat by whom you are regarded impersonally, as a line item on a business transaction or data point in “group based” collectivist healthcare.

As the government mandate to purchase health insurance from favored corporations selling “Qualified Health Plans” and other features of Obamacare kick in, our relationship is being intentionally broken and replaced.

As of today, I am no longer an “in-network provider” for United Healthcare.

Whether or not I am listed as a “provider” on your insurance plan, I remain steadfastly your physician. I honor my Hippocratic Oath and pledge you my all- to provide the very best, individualized, state-of-the-art, and dignified care based on your personal condition, decisions, and choices.

I pray you will choose to continue in my care. I have a fair and transparent fee schedule. I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the cost savings associated with direct patient care models, where 80-90% of the cost is not squandered on billing, administration, and third party. You may choose to file with your insurance company for care from me as an “out of network provider”, and we will provide you with the appropriate billing codes.

As a patient, I choose my own physicians and surgeons. I do not let the insurance corporation or federal government dictate who will provide my care, what my treatment will be, or who will do my surgery. I hope you and our fellow American patients will do the same.

Please understand that in order to honor, protect, and defend the sacred patient-doctor relationship, the Hippocratic Oath, and my pledge to you, I cannot continue under contract and control of those who seek to eliminate my ability and autonomy to care for you.

I look forward to many more years with you.

Sincerely,

Kristin S. Held, MD

4 thoughts on “Letter to my patients regarding United Healthcare provider status

  1. Absolutely fabulous. Keep fighting the good fight for doctor-patient freedom. The unwieldy and tyrannical government-mandated third-party system must be deposed to protect individual liberties and ensure true health and longevity. I hope more doctors like you will choose to take their services directly to the ones they truly serve.

  2. THANKS FOR SHARING THIS LETTER. I TO HAD TO GIVE UP MY FAMILY DR WHO KNOWS ME SO WELL. IT’S ALL ABOUT INSURANCE. I HAD MANY HEALTH ISSUES THIS PAST YEAR THAT HAVENT BEEN SOLVEDM DR DESHAZO WOULD HAD ME FIXED UP IN A FEW WEEKS.IT MAKES ME SAD THAT I CAN’T GO BACK ON HIM BECAUSE I CAN’T AFFORD IT

Leave a Reply

